Technology Policy Institute Aspen Forum

The Technology Policy Institute’s Aspen Forum is an annual, multi-day policy symposium held in Aspen, Colorado.  The premier event gathers leaders from business, government and academia to discuss and debate the key public policy issues affecting the technology and communications industries.

Since 2010, almost 900 attendees have gathered at the St. Regis resort for provocative discussions and riveting keynotes on topics ranging from U.S. competitiveness and innovation, to broadband penetration, to entertainment distribution models.  Each year’s agenda touches on timely themes and pertinent issues driving public policy and regulatory decisions and how it may impact tech, communications and content industries.  The depth of discussions, featuring both industry leaders and academic experts, make the event a unique experience for attendees.

Previous Forums have featured speakers from industry, government, and academia, including:


David Cohen, Executive Vice President, Comcast
Philip Falcone, Chief Executive Officer, Harbinger Capital Partners
Reid Hoffman, Co-Founder and Executive Chairman, LinkedIn
Victor Nichols, Chief Executive Officer, Experian North America
Paul Otellini, Chief Executive Officer, Intel
Brad Smith, Chief Executive Officer, Intuit
Peter Thiel, President, Clarium Capital, and Founder and Chairman, Palantir Technologies
Tim Westergren, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Pandora


Former Congressman Rick Boucher
Commissioner Julie Brill, Federal Trade Commission
Commissioner Mignon Clyburn, Federal Communications Commission
Honorable Michael Daniel, Special Assistant to the President and Cybersecurity Coordinator
Commissioner F. Scott Kieff, US International Trade Commission
Chairman William Kovacic, Federal Trade Commission
Michelle K. Lee, Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and Director, USPTO
Alexander Macgillivray, Deputy Chief Technology Officer, Office of Science and Technology Policy
Commissioner Robert McDowell, Federal Communications Commission
Commissioner Terrell McSweeny, Federal Trade Commission
Commissioner Michael O’Rielly, Federal Communications Commission
Commissioner Maureen Ohlhausen, Federal Trade Commission
Chairwoman Edith Ramirez, Federal Trade Commission
Former Congressman Cliff Stearns
U.S. Representative Scott Tipton
Former Senator Mark Udall
Commissioner Joshua Wright, Federal Trade Commission


Susan Athey, Economics and Technology Professor, Stanford University Graduate School of Business
Timothy Bresnahan, Landau Professor in Technology and the Economy and Professor of Economics, Stanford University
Erik Brynjolfsson, Director of the MIT Initiative on the Digital Economy and Schussel Family Professor, MIT Sloan School
Robin Hanson, Associate Professor of Economics, George Mason University and Research Associate, Future of Humanity Institute, Oxford University
Thomas Hazlett, Hugh H. Macaulay Endowed Professor of Economics, John E. Walker Department of Economics, Clemson University
Dale Jorgenson, Samuel W. Morris University Professor of Economics, Harvard University
Carl Shapiro, Transamerica Professor of Business Strategy, Haas School of Business, University of California, Berkeley
Catherine Tucker, Douglas Drane Career Development Professor in IT and Management and Associate Professor of Marketing, MIT Sloan School of Management
Hal Varian, Chief Economist, Google
Christopher Yoo, John H. Chestnut Professor of Law, Communication, and Computer & Information Science; Director, Center for Technology, Innovation & Competition, University of Pennsylvania Law School

For more information on the Technology Policy Institute’s Aspen Forum, please contact Jane Creel at jcreel@techpolicyinstitute.org. The event is open to the press.  Please contact Amy Smorodin at asmorodin@techpolicyinstitute.org for more information and complimentary registration.



Aspen Forum 2018

Past Conferences:

Aspen Forum 2017
Aspen Forum 2016
Aspen Forum 2015
Aspen Forum 2014
Aspen Forum 2013
Aspen Forum 2012
Aspen Forum 2011
Aspen Forum 2010